The Qualifying Series for the Bayleys Fiji Coral Coast Sevens tournament kicks off this Friday 14 August at Ra Sports Ground in Rakiraki.

The Ra 7s, hosted by the Uluinakau Club, is part of the four-tournament Qualifying Series to be held over the next two months. 

The winner of each automatically qualifies for one of the coveted spots at the Bayleys Fiji Coral Coast Sevens on 14-16 January 2016 at Lawaqa Park.

Sixteen teams have been confirmed for the Ra 7s drawn mostly from the Ra, Tavua, Yasawa and Malolo areas.

“We are thrilled to see the number of entries for the Ra 7s,” said Katja Imholz, Competition Manager for the Bayleys Fiji Coral Coast Sevens.  “Given the interest in the Bayleys Fiji Coral Coast Sevens, the highly successful Great Eight qualifying tournament has been expanded to a series of four events hosted by the top finishers of last year's event, namely Uluinakau, Yamacia, Westfield Dragons and Wardens.

“With each qualifying tournament accommodating at least 16 teams, over 60 clubs from all corners of Fiji will have the opportunity to win their way to Lawaqa Park and challenge for the $30,000 first prize in January.”

The lineup for the two-day Ra 7s includes former Coral Coast Sevens champion Red Rock, who triumphed in both 2010 and 2012. 

Four pools of four will be followed by playoffs with the draw to be released late Thursday.

Teams in the Ra 7s:
First Landing
Golden River
Kula Young Boys
Nadawa Young Boys
Naisilisili Babas
Nalotu Evening Stars
Namarai Selection
Nasalo Wadigi Babas
Nasolo Young Boys
PWD Bure
Red Rock
Takalana Dolphins Samurai
Uluinakau Babas
Western Suburbs

Qualifying Series tournaments:
Westfield  Dragons, 28-29 August, Prince Charles Park, Nadi
Wardens, 11-12 September, Subrail Park, Labasa
Yamacia, 23-24 September, Draiba, Navosa